Krista’s Korner – Best of 2015

Here we are, another year come and gone. It is now the time to round up my Best of 2015.

Top Five Favorite Movies

Bridge of Spies - In Theaters October 16, 2015

Bridge of Spies

This movie came out of nowhere – probably didn’t see any trailers for it until a month before it came out. I can’t explain exactly why I liked it so much. Maybe I saw it at the right moment when I needed something positive, and something to help me have hope for humanity again. Based on a true story during the Cold War, Tom Hanks depicts James Donovan, an incredible negotiator, and saves the life of a Russian spy on American soil. I left the theater really inspired.

Inside Out - In Theaters June 19, 2015

Inside Out

A movie about feelings, there was no way I wasn’t going to feel. I’ve thought about this movie a lot since June in relation to how emotions and decisions are made inside of us. I doubt there are little people inside our brains, but there are times I really question. It’s a beautiful story about growing up and learning that it’s okay to feel ways you don’t necessarily think are right.

Kingsman: The Secret Service Movie Poster

Kingsman: The Secret Service

I admit that I didn’t know much about this one going in. I saw half a trailer and expected it to be a drama, and oh boy it wasn’t. Not that there weren’t moments, but it was /fun/ and clever and witty and there’s a lot of beautifully choreographed violence I just… yeah. Colin Firth in a suit, man.

The Martian - In Theaters wide release - October 02, 2015

The Martian

This one was a lot like Bridge of Spies where it gave me the warm fuzzies about humanity. It also solidified that I find space fascinating but I never ever want to be an astronaut, nope nope nope. I love watching Matt Damon be isolated in space and Science the S*** out of things.

Tomorrowland - In Theaters May 22, 2015

Tomorrowland

I saw Tomorrowland twice, while Zach saw it thrice (maybe one more time, I can’t remember). It didn’t get a lot of great reviews, cause I feel many reviewers missed points that the movie was making, or saying Brad Bird keeps recycling the “special people” angle. I left the theater thinking that people need to stop seeking out the negativity of doom of the world and be active in making it a better place.

 

Honorable Mentions

Marvel's Ant-Man - In Theaters July 17, 2015Avengers - Age of Ultron Movie Poster

Ant-Man / Avengers 2: The Age of Ultron

I keep lugging the Marvel movies together, oops. Both of the Phase movies this year were nice, but I wasn’t completely sold with them. Ant-Man was a great change of pace from the other movies as there wasn’t a lot of explosions or action, more calm and real feeling of a dad just wanting to be with his daughter. Ultron had some great humor and visuals and I just love the chemistry of the cast.

Disney Cinderella Movie Poster

Cinderella

Ahhh this movie was so beautiful. I went in pretty cautiously after the mess that was Maleficent last year, and I was very pleased that Cinderella was a huge improvement. The fairy tale was in tact, the cast was wonderful, the costumes were amazing, and everything was visually stunning. It was a tender movie about being kind and it was very cute.

Paddington Movie Poster

Paddington

Speaking of cute, so was Paddington. I watched a bit of this growing up, as did my BFF and we we saw it together. You can read my review here.

 

Under-Appreciated

The Man From UNCLE - In Theaters August 14, 2015

The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

This was one that many people overlooked in favor of Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation (which also was a good and fun film, but not as good as Ghost Protocol). It was classy and stylistic and mildly self-aware. It made me like Henry Cavil and Arnie Hammer.

Spy - In Theaters June 05, 2015

Spy

I was sort of afraid of this one. We managed to score a free screening of this and figured “Why not?”, plus the cast looked fun. I don’t do a lot of R movies, let alone Comedies because they are typically filled with over the top lewd/crude/man-child behavior/language, etc. Yes, this movie had a lot of language and an unnecessary dick pic, but it was hilarious and well done and incredibly female-empowering.

 

Guilty Pleasure

Goosebumps - In Theaters October 16, 2015

Goosebumps

Honestly I’m not all that guilty about loving this movie… it’s more not a lot of people would see it because /they/ would feel embarrassed. I had a really good time. A lot of practical effects, the humor was great and overall a lot of fun. Definitely something I see becoming a cult classic like Hocus Pocus.

Victor Frankenstein - In Theaters November 25, 2015 - Thanksgiving

Victor Frankenstein

Ah, another one that nobody saw, mainly because Star Wars came out and pushed all screenings out. This was a movie I was expecting to be a guilty pleasure because it was awful. It wasn’t awful, but definitely better than the trailers lead you to believe. It’s a clever take on the Frankenstein story and is visually impressive. It was nice seeing Daniel Radcliff in such a different role.

Jurassic World - In Theaters June 12, 2015

Jurassic World

It amazes me how much money this film made. Then again, it was a great example of a GOOD Nostalgia grab tactic. It was a movie full of bad decisions, but man that scene at the end was the best thing ever! Zach’s review is here.

 

Disappointment

The Hunger Games - Mockingjay Part 2 - In theaters November 20, 2015

Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part II

I… had hoped the movie would fix things that bothered me about the book. It didn’t.

The Good Dinosaur - In Theaters November 25, 2015 - Thanksgiving

The Good Dinosaur

To put bluntly, this movie was /weird/. The premise was weird to begin with, but I was hoping for something with a bit more substance. Instead we got a recycled Western, Boy and his Dog, movie.

 

Worst

Attack on Titan Live Action Part 2 - Special limited screening October 20, 22, and 27th, 2015

Attack on Titan Part 1 & 2

These movies were an insult to even a casual fan. What I enjoyed from the series was ripped apart, thrown in a blender, eaten, regurgitated, set on fire, and the ashes were rocketed into space.

Terminator Genisys - In Theaters July 01, 2015

Terminator Genisys

It had promise, but it was still pretty bad. AHnold was the only saving grace. Nostalgia only gets you so far.

Top Five Favorite Anime

The Seven Deadly Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins

Since this started in Fall 2014 season and ended in 2015, I’ve seen it be lost in limbo or go towards one of the other. Since I didn’t include it for 2014, I’ll included for 2015, because it definitely deserves my #1 choice. The Seven Deadly Sins reminds me a lot of The Slayers, which is one of my all-time favorite series. It’s got great visuals, music, and story. Season two will be premiering in 2016 and I’m super excited. You can now watch the first season subbed OR dubbed on Netflix! You can read my review here.

Blood Blockade Battlefront

Blood Blockade Battlefront

If I didn’t have The Seven Deadly Sins, my top pick would have gone to Blood Blockade Battlefront. I’ve yet to do a review because there was a strange delay with the last episode and I was waiting on Funimation to dub it before completing the series. Zach and I marathoned the entire series as part of our New Years Eve plans and I have no regrets. It’s a beautiful package and contains a lot in an anime that I adore – Right mixture of drama/comedy/fascinating world building/with a bit of romance. I’ll get the review up for whole series in a few weeks.

One Punch Man Poster

One Punch Man

I’m positive this is going to be on everyone’s list and it is well deserving of the consideration. Who wouldn’t love a super hero comedy about being the strongest hero alive and wishing you could fight longer than the one punch that it takes to take out a guy and you are left utterly bored with your powers? Madhouse brings some really awesome action sequences to the table. Unfortunately its ending was fairly abrupt, but there is more manga and I’m pretty positive we’ll be seeing a season 2.

My Love Story Poster

My Love Story!!

I went into this series for the cuteness factor. I saw a lot of friends getting into the manga and it’s a bit easier for me to watch anime due to my several subscriptions. I ended up liking this sugar sweet shojo romance more than I thought I would. I tend to only like shojo if there is comedy attached or the story is super, super good I’m going to cry. My Love Story was innocent and adorable. Had it remained like the first three episodes, I think I would feel very different about it.

Noragami Aragoto Poster

Noragami Aragoto

Not as strong as the first season, Aragoto went back to address Bishamon’s past and I’m kind of glad they separated it. Half the series was dedicated to telling her story, which isn’t bad, but it definitely would have hindered the viewer getting attached to the main trio. We also got to see more gods and explore more of their world. I’m looking forward to watching this again with the Broadcast Dub because I adore the cast when the first season came on bluray this last summer.

 

 

Heroic Legend of ArslanHeroic Legend of Arlsan

This one gets an honorable mention just because I can’t not say something about. It’s based off of a novel that has had many adaptions over the years and FMA’s Hiromu Arakawa brings her take on this retelling of The Crusades. The series suffered a lot from bad production values, but the music (opening/endings), likeable characters and designs, and captivating story kept me interested. Looking forward to season 2! Wow, I still have Fall animes to review!

 

Television

Agent Carter Poster

Agent Carter

I can’t say enough good things about Agent Carter. AOS is good and all, but I think I fell out of love with it a little (too many love triangles and everyone betraying each other omg) and Agent Carter filled things in nicely. Peggy is a great character and I love her. My review is here.

Daredevil Poster

Daredevil

Basically, I don’t watch a lot of TV unless it’s comic book related… Marvel has outdone themselves on the TV department. I haven’t been able to get into Jessica Jones yet, but Daredevil caught me with episode one just by the general look and feel of it. My review is here.

Supergirl Poster

Supergirl

Ah yes, finally: Somebody at DC let someone that loves DC and knows how fun comics can be actually make something worth while without the gritty. This year has been great for women on television. We are now on the Winter Break, but look forward to my review at the season break!

Galavant Poster

Galavant

This show was so dang, stupid fun. Please watch it. Second season starts on Sunday! Review of first season is here.

The Flash 2 Poster

The Flash

Continues to be amazing and fully of surprises and greatness. Can’t wait to review season two when its done with its break.

There are 2 comments

Join the conversation

You have to agree to the comment policy.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.